Homemade Chili

IMG_3935I’m going to get really personal here. 

You’d think someone with a food blog is open to all sorts of foods and has a well versed palate. Okay…?

Problem is, I can be extremely, extremely picky when it comes to foods, especially fruits and vegetables. I know that seems insane coming from a food blogger, but that’s not to say that I don’t eat them at all. I do eat certain ones, but I’ve always struggled with getting over fears of certain food.

Moving up here to Gainesville from home gave me this feeling of wanting to explore foods. Coincidentally, I’ve chosen to have the focus of my blog being finding new recipes on Pinterest.

This is not to say that every recipe I find is for this “experimentation with food” agenda, but I decided with this post to try something new: this chili recipe. I’ve never made chili from scratch, nor have I really “cared” for chili because I “hated” beans… but that all changed after making this recipe.

To be honest, before making this recipe, I had this unexplainable fear of beans. Maybe it was the texture? The smell? I’m not really sure, I can’t explain this childhood fear of them. All I know is that after I physically cut everything up, put everything on the stovetop and cooked it, I had this sense of power. I felt like I could conquer everything.

When I was finished, I grabbed a bowl for my boyfriend, Casey, {we’ve been dating for a little over 5 years, more about him on a later date!} and he LOVED it! He asked me if I was going to try it, because he knew how picky I was. His tone was skeptical, was if he already knew there was “defeat,” he thought my answer was an automatic no.

Surprisingly, I went and grabbed that red bowl and shoveled a few spoonfuls over into my own bowl and raced back to the table. I looked at the chili, and then back at Casey, and then dove head first. Best decision EVER.

Not only was the taste of the chili amazing, but the BEANS! Oh my goodness, the BEANS!! They actually tasted good! They didn’t have a distinct taste or texture or off-putting. They were actually smooth and easy to eat. Some psychological childhood fear was just broken! This made me wonder why I even feared them at all. Perhaps the cooking process made me feel empowered and sentimental to my work, and that could be the reason it was easier to eat? I’m not really sure. That’s a question for a psychologist! 

Needless to say, the recipe is super easy to make. And I highly encourage anyone out there with these same fears, or the fear of any type of food, to just give it a chance! Try what I did, start from the beginning prep stages. More control may equal better tasting food. You will never know until you try!

Share with me below your conquered food fears or ones you need help with!

~P.S. I paired this chili with cornbread. Who doesn’t love that combination?!~

{Results}: Epic Win!

*Trust me when I say this, {you can} make this, too.

{Homemade Chili}

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds of ground beef {browned}
  • 1 pound of ground sausage {browned}
  • 2 15 oz. cans of dark kidney beans
  • 1 15 oz. can of light kidney beans
  • 1 large chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup of salsa
  • 2 15 oz. cans tomato sauce
  • 15 oz. of water {use a can for the measure!}
  • 1 tablespoon of brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons of ground cumin
  • 2 tablespoons of chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons of garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon of oregano
  • 1 teaspoon of basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of pepper

IMG_3901

Directions

  1. Brown the ground beef and sausage in a skillet. {I used two different skillets to speed the process up.}
  2. While the meat is cooking, chop up your onion. {I also used red and green peppers because I adore them, and they go perfect with chili!}
  3. Grab either a crockpot or a stockpot and add the seasonings: cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, oregano, basil, salt, and pepper. Stir well.
  4. Then add in the onions, beans, salsa, tomato sauce, water, and brown sugar.
  5. If using your crock-pot, cook on low 4 to 6 hours.
  6. If using your stock-pot, simmer for at least 1 hour on low.
  7. Garnish with cheddar cheese and sour cream, and enjoy!a

IMG_3903 IMG_3915

Click {here} for the original {pin}.

PIN IT Untitled-2

Leave a Reply

