Red Velvet Cheesecake Bundt Cake

IMG_3890

Back a few months ago, I bought this wicked bundt cake pan. See, the thing is, is that I was using all my step-mother’s baking pans and such back at home. I knew I was moving away to Gainesville soon for school, so I started slowly making my own collection.  I didn’t have a bundt cake in my collection yet {surprisingly}. But, I went online and bought that bundt cake pan for 15$. Do you see the price of it now?! I digress… But, needless to say, I still haven’t broken that pan in yet!

Well, last week my co-workers were the guinea pigs for my Pumpkin Serious series. I got plenty of feedback on the food I brought in. It was as if they all the sudden thought it was okay to “put in orders.” I didn’t mind, though! Well, someone asked for something red velvet in any type of form.

What perfect timing! I had remembered I still hadn’t used that bundt cake pan. So, I hopped on Pinterest, and found a recipe that used red velvet and also put that bundt cake pan to work!

{Results}: EPIC WIN!!

Let me just say, I completely out did myself with this cake. I normally make the red velvet from the Betty Crocker box found on the shelf at Publix. I literally could not answer you why it was red or what the flavor was from; after making this cake, I can tell you it’s from the cocoa powder you get the flavor, and red food coloring you get the color. It was so exhilarating to actually say I made this myself. 🙂

*Trust me when I say this, {you can} make this, too.

Ingredients

Cheesecake Filling
  • 1 8 oz. package of cream cheese, softened {room temperature}
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
Cake
  • 3 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon of cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 cup of oil
  • 3/4 cup of buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 oz. of red food color
  • 2 teaspoons of vinegar
Glaze
  • 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar {plus more if needed for thickness}
  • 3 tablespoons of milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • Sprinkles {optional}

*I decided not to use this glaze, but instead take a container of cream cheese frosting from a store bought container. I just heated it in intervals of 30 seconds until it was soupy enough to drizzle. Just had to add my own spin at the last second. 🙂

IMG_3867

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 10-inch bundt pan.
  2. Beat the cheesecake filling ingredients together in a large medium mixing bowl with an electric mixer until smooth. Set aside.
  3. Add flour, sugar, cocoa, and baking soda together in a large mixer bowl. Set aside.
  4. Whisk together oil, buttermilk, vanilla, eggs, red food coloring, and vinegar in another large bowl.
  5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until thoroughly combined.
  6. Add about 1/3 of the cake batter to the pan.
  7. Spoon half of the cheesecake filling into the pan, trying to keep it in the center of the cake batter {not touching the sides of the pan}.
  8. Spoon another 1/3 of the cake batter on top of the cheesecake filling, starting with the edges.
  9. Add the remaining cheesecake filling, again trying to keep it away from the sides of the pan.
  10. Add remaining 1/3 of the cake batter, beginning with the sides and covering all the cheesecake filling.
  11. Bake for 38-43 minutes {until it springs back at you}.
  12. Remove from oven and allow to cool in pan for about 10 minutes. Then, remove onto a wire rack to cool completely.
  13. When cake is completely cooled, whisk together glaze ingredients in a small bowl. Use a spoon to drizzle it on top of the cake. Top with sprinkles {if desired}.

photo 3

Click {here} for the original {pin}.

PIN IT

Untitled-2

Leave a Reply

