Buffalo Chicken Spirals

IMG_3884

I had a rough week between school and work. It’s only Thursday and I feel like it’s a Monday. I don’t know whether it was the impending doom of midterms clouding my mood or the incident at work.

 

Seriously, I don’t understand society sometimes. I literally feel like doing onto others as you’d have done onto you, the golden rule, should apply always and forever. Apparently people forgot this mantra exists, and I wasn’t about to let someone at work treat me otherwise.

 

I work at FedEx Office—and no, I’m not going to get you a discount on shipping. Anyways, I was standing at the shipping counter, smiling and inviting customers up to the register. This middle-aged cookie cutter wife with the “Kate with 8” style stomps up the counter. I try not to notice her resting bitch face, but instead counter it with a sarcastic courteous gesture.

 

“Ma’am, let me take that extremely heavy box from your hands. Wouldn’t want you to have an accident.”

 

“Thanks….” Resting Bitch Face Kate responds back. I meet her eyes and could feel her nastiness swallowing me. The entire transaction was just as much as a nightmare as when I first saw her walk through the front door. She kept asking me all these questions and wouldn’t SHUT. UP.

 

After I processed her package, I gave her the receipt and she “thanked me from the bottom of her heart for helping her get her package out to her sister.” Yeah, OKAY…

So, as always, I responded with “Notta problem ma’am! Have a great day!” and shot her my fakest smile…. That’s when shit hit the fan.

 

This lady pulled out all the stops on me: stomping, screaming, hand gesturing, and “demanding to speak to my manager RIGHT NOW!”

 

Over what? Yeah, she didn’t like my “notta problem” response. To her it meant I was “disrespectful” and “all that is wrong with this world.” Because according to Resting Bitch Face Kate, “I’m what’s wrong with today’s society” and “what happened to thank you?!?”

 

At this point, I mentally checked out. This was the icing on the cake for the make of a wonderful week. THEN, just THEN, when I thought the only way to turn around my week was to make a chicken recipe for the game football game Thursday.

 

I thought I’d be saving some money by finding this great  Buffalo Chicken Spirals recipe. I’m too cheap to spend over 50$ on Hooters at this point in my life. Yeah, that was until this idea came crashing down on top of my head.

 

Forewarning: NEVER TRUST A RECIPE COMPLETY! Seriously, I don’t understand how a chef/baker can post a recipe if they can’t correctly convey the recipe to the reader!!

 

The stupid original pinner of the recipe said this recipe called for one tube of croissants. Yet, in every single picture she showed, she had TWO tubes present. That should have been a cue, but why should I doubt her ingredients list?

 

I should have doubted that sucker! Because it was physically impossible to stuff all the buffalo chicken into that one tiny spiral, and I don’t know how I didn’t see that. Even the end result picture had TWO spirals shown. What angers the most is that the author has this recipe floating around and doesn’t care. She doesn’t care that it doesn’t work, she doesn’t care that people will wind up wasting time and money, and she clearly doesn’t care about her reputation on the Internet.

 

The recipe was technically a full blow epic fail and disaster, but it was yummy. I had already lost my grace to failing on a recipe, that this actually tasting great was the only saving me.

 

I’ve learned my lesson—between using the “wrong phrase” and following the recipe blindly—and I’m telling you to stay cautious. Learn from my mistakes, or else they will become yours, too.

{Result}: Epic Fail!

*Trust me when I say this, {you can} make this!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of chicken {shredded or diced up}
  • 1/2 cup of Bleu cheese crumbles
  • 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup of buffalo sauce {any brand}
  • 2 cans of Pillsbury Croissant {8 oz. tube}
  • Parchment paper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Dice or shred the chicken at this time, if it isn’t already.
  2. Combine the chicken, buffalo sauce, and cheeses in a medium mixing bowl.
  3. Pop open both tubes of Pillsbury croissant. Grab some parchment paper and tear some off, laying it on the counter.
  4. Lay out the croissant dough and pinch together the seams on each one {where it tells you to “pull them apart”}. Once finished, turn it over and do the same to the other side.
  5. Spread the chicken mixture between the two doughs, in a thin layer. Then, tightly roll the dough up, making a spiral {do not roll the parchment paper into the spiral}.
  6. Refrigerate the spirals for 15-20 minutes.
  7. Grab a cookie/baking sheet and cover it with parchment paper. Then, cut 1&1/2 inch pieces and place them across the sheet.
  8. Cook them for 15 minutes, checking for the croissant dough to become golden brown. Let them cool for 2 minutes before serving.
  9. Serve with Bleu cheese dressing and enjoy!

IMG_3871 IMG_3873 IMG_3876

Click {here} for the original {pin}.

PIN IT

Untitled-2

Leave a Reply

