Day 6: Pumpkin Roll Cake

IMG_3848

For our 6th and final installment of our Pumpkin Serious Series, I went with a recipe that has a soft spot in my heart: the pumpkin roll cake! This little creation from heaven is well documented within my family. My grandmother used to make this roll cake every single Thanksgiving. I thought it would only be appropriate then to use a {pinspirational} recipe that I found to recreate it. I wanted to see if I could make it just as good as my grandmother could!

After looking through Pinterest, I stumbled upon this pumpkin roll cake recipe that seemed pretty easy to figure out. I’d never attempted to recreate this, only for the fear that I would {epically fail} and make an embarrassment out of my grandmother’s staple Thanksgiving dessert. My family is definitely the type to not let you live down a mistake and keep making you butt of every joke, even though they do it out of “love.” I’d still rather not have to live with that!

I jumped into it with my eyes and nose closed for an {epic disaster} and it really way a…

{Results}: EPIC EPIC WIN!!

Honestly, I don’t know why I was so afraid to make one of these! It’s really not as scary as it seems, it’s rather simple. I think just from the look of the spiral of the cake people make it seem complicated and scary.

The pumpkin cake itself is super soft and melts in your mouth. Pairing that with this immensely creamy, decedent cheesecake-esk of a filling? Pair made in heaven! I’m pretty sure if my grandmother could come up to Gainesville and try this, she would be so proud of me. 🙂

*Trust me when I say this, {you can} make this, too.

{Pumpkin Roll Cake}

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup of granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup of pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spices
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup finely chopped pecans {Optional, I left out because my grandmother never used them}
  • 1 package {8 oz.} of cream cheese, softened {room temperature}
  • 1/3 cup of butter, softened {room temperature}
  • 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar
  • A few drops of heavy cream
  • Powdered sugar {for dusting}

IMG_3830

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 375 degrees. Line a 15X10 inch pan with parchment paper, leaving about 1 inch of paper hanging on the sides. Set aside. {I didn’t have that big of a pan or parchment paper, so I just used a deep set cookie sheet with foil and sprayed it with cooking oil}
  2. In a mixing bowl, add the eggs and sugar. Using a mixer, beat the eggs and sugar on high speed for 5 minutes or until thickened and pale in color. Lower the speed to medium and beat in the pumpkin puree.
  3. Stir in the flour, baking powder, pumpkin pie spices and salt on low speed until just combined.
  4. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and spread it evenly {Optional: sprinkle the chopped pecans on top}.
  5. Place the pan in the oven for 12 minutes or until the cake springs back when touched. While the cake is baking, dust some powder sugar over a clean tea towel. {A tea towel is basically a lien “dish” towel, it’s basically a thin kitchen towel, at least that is what I used}
  6. As soon as you remove the cake from the oven, invert the cake over the clean towel, peel the parchment paper {foil} and roll the cake starting with the short side.
  7. Let the cake cool at cool temperature for al least 1 hour but no more than 5 hours. {You want it to cool in the shape of the spiral}
  8. In the meantime, in a mixing bowl, add the cream cheese and butter. Using a mixer, beat on medium speed until light and fluffy.
  9. Lower the speed and gently fold in the powdered sugar. If needed, add few drops of heavy cream to reach the desired consistency. {You want it to be creamy!}
  10. Gently unfold the pumpkin roll cake and spread the cream cheese filling evenly.
  11. Roll the cake again and wrap it tightly in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour.
  12. When ready to serve, cut into slices and let at room temperature for few minutes. Enjoy!

IMG_3820 IMG_3824 IMG_3826

IMG_3855

Click {here} for the original {pin}.

PIN IT

Untitled-2

Leave a Reply

