Day 5: Pumpkin Cheesecake

IMG_3861

I’m going to start off by tooting my own horn: I’m an expert cheesecake maker. Yes, an expert. Ask anyone at Thanksgiving or Christmas in my family what they look forward to, and the first thing they’ll say is “Carly’s cheesecake!” Specifically, everyone is in love with my pumpkin cheesecake.

I know, I know… “Then why are you using a post to make a pumpkin cheesecake if you’re an expert!?” I actually decided in this case to find a {pinspirational} take on my coined pumpkin cheesecake recipe. I wanted to compare the two and see if there are any real flavor differences, if any at all, or if one was harder to make than the other. We’ll see here after the jump!

{Results}: Epic Win! {I made the cheesecake, yet, I still love my recipe.}

In general, it was definitely a totally different way to make the cheesecake. I’m so used to just mixing it all together and it being a simple “place in the oven and forget about it” approach. With this {pinspirational} recipe, you actually separated the regular cheesecake from the pumpkin cheesecake.

I’d tell you to be super careful with the timing and cooking with this particular cheesecake. I’ve had my fair share of overcooking {curdling} and I came very close to it with this one!

Here’s a compare/contrast of different aspects of the cheesecakes:

  • {Physical appearance}:
    • My recipe: A pale orange with hinted specs of cinnamon and pumpkin spice. It’s a large cheesecake, so one thin slice will do ya’!
    • {Pinspirational} Recipe: Orange with a marbling of white throughout. This cheesecake bakes tiny, so you’d have to use a bigger slice. {What’s so wrong with that?}
  • {Texture}:
    • My recipe: Smooth, creamy, and succulent!
    • {Pinspirational} Recipe: Smooth, but a little tougher, still tastes creamy after initial bite.
  • {Taste}:
    • My recipe: Purely pumpkin.
    • {Pinspirational} Recipe: You can taste the different marbling of regular cheesecake and pumpkin, which make it fun to eat.
  • {Overall baking experience}:
    • My recipe: Super fast and easy; definitely inked in my recipe box.
    • {Pinspirational} Recipe: It was a little more tedious with the extra step to do the marbling, but it definitely makes the cheesecake more physically appealing.

Would I bake this again? I’m sorry guys, but it {epically failed} to take me away from beloved recipe. 🙂

*Trust me when I say this, {you can} make this, too.

{Pumpkin Cheesecake}

Ingredients

Crust

  • 1 1/4 cup of graham crackers and gingersnap crumbs {I just used graham cracker crumbs because I’m not a huge fan of gingersnaps}
  • 1/4 cup of melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice

Pumpkin Cheesecake filling

  • 2 (8 oz.) packages of cream cheese, softened {room temperature}
  • 1/3 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons of heavy cream
  • 1 cup of pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup of brown sugar {I prefer dark brown sugar}
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spices

IMG_3835

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In small bowl, mix the graham cracker crumbs with the pumpkin spice and melted butter with a fork. {You can use a food processor to make the crumbs, or I just used a soup can and a plastic baggy, same thing!}
  3. With your fingers, press it evenly on the bottom and the sides of a 9″ round spring pan {with removable bottom}. Refrigerate for 5-10 minutes.
  4. In a mixing bowl add the cream cheese, sugar and heavy cream. Mix these on low speed until fluffy. Add the egg and blend well. Reserve 2/3 cup of this cream cheese mixture.
  5. Take the remaining cream cheese mixture and add the pumpkin puree, brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice. Blend well.
  6. Pour the pumpkin cheese mixture into the chilled crust. Spread this evenly.
  7. With a spoon, drop dollops of the reserved cream cheese mixture and make some swirls with a fork or knife.
  8. After, bake in the oven for 25 minutes or until the center is set.
  9. Turn the oven off and leave the door open. Let the cheesecake cool in there for at least 1 hour. Run a knife around the cheesecake for easy removal of the pan.
  10. Refrigerate for a couple of hours, and then slice and dice to enjoy!

IMG_3836 IMG_3839 IMG_3842 IMG_3845 IMG_3862

Click {here} for the original {pin}.

PIN IT

Untitled-2

Leave a Reply

