Day 4: Pumpkin Bread

IMG_3809

When I got home from work tonight, I realized how very ironic my last post seemed. I was “complaining” about Fall not making itself a friend of Florida’s; I opened my mouth too soon! It’s absolutely breathtaking outside! I can actually breathe and not feel like I’m going to choke on the thickness of the air. It was that type of cold outside, the kind that makes you throw on your thick knee high crazy colored socks, long pant PJ bottoms, and curl up on the couch with a light blanket, all the while you have all the windows open. Ahhhh! 🙂

I occurred to be while I’m sitting on my couch doing just exactly that, that I had this yearning for a nice, hot dessert… Off to the Pinterest boards I went!

I just searched for the key term pumpkin and about a bazillion recipes came flying before my eyes. Overload much? As I tried to find a needle in a haystack, I ran my eyes across a bread recipe that looked kind of like a coffee cake. Pumpkin bread {essentially a coffee pumpkin bread}? Okay, sounds like it’s worth a shot.

Boy, was this bread EVER worth the shot! It didn’t take much, and I was super proud of myself that it was made from scratch! Even down to the streusel topping! 🙂  To add to the amazingness, I paired this bread with a hot cup of pumpkin spiced coffee. You can never have enough! 🙂

{Result}: Epic Win!! 

*Trust me when I say this, {you can} make this, too.

{Pumpkin Bread}

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup of pumpkin puree {canned}
  • 1 1/2 cup sifted all purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg

Streusel Topping: {Optional, but SO worth it}

  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar {I prefer dark brown sugar}
  • 1/3 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup of butter, softened

IMG_3778

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour a 8x 5-inch loaf pan.  {My bread pan was left behind in my move, so I used a 13x8x1 glass bakeware; came out just as good!}
  2. Beat the sugar with the oil until blended. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well. Continue beating until light and fluffy.
  3. After, mix in the pumpkin on low speed. Adding in dry ingredients on low speed and mixing well.
  4. Pour into the prepared pan.
  5. For streusel topping, mix all ingredients until it becomes a crumb texture using a fork {or a pastry cutter}. Then spread topping over the entire loaf.
  6. Bake 60 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pan and finish cooling. Enjoy!

IMG_3780 IMG_3812

Click {here} for the original {pin}.

PIN IT

Untitled-2

Leave a Reply

