Day 3: Pumpkin Soup

IMG_3798

It’s still around 80-something degrees here in Gainesville, Florida. It’s October 16th. You can say I am getting a bit tired of the tasting the humidity in the air. I wish I could see all the leaves falling, brisk days, and wear a scarf. 😦 Oh, the perils of Florida living!

I decided tonight that despite this awful “Fall” weather here, I was going to pretend it was Fall and make some soup! Of course, not just any other “type” of soup, but one that involved pumpkin! One thing I knew for sure, is that I love that feeling of “Fall” I get from eating thick tomato soup with a grilled cheese. Mmmm. The thought of that itself is making me feel all warm inside!

I went right to the {inspiration} board and pulled out my handy dandy Pinterest. I knew I wanted to keep it basic and a thick consitency, since I’d never really made pumpkin soup before and I wanted it to be like tomato soup. I then stumbled on this {pinspirational} recipe: Pumpkin Soup. Best part of this recipe? Super quick and easy. BINGO!

Let me just clarify, although it seems super basic and “boring,” if you love pumpkin, and you like thick, warm soup, this is definitely made for you! I was actually thoroughly satisfied with the taste. Comfort food, for sure!

{Results}: Epic Win! {& Delicious!!}

*Trust me when I say this, {you can} make this, too.

{Pumpkin Soup}

Ingredients

  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 can chicken broth {I use Swanson’s}
  • 1 can of pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup of applesauce
  • Dash of nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup evaporated milk {You can buy one of the small 5 oz. cans}

IMG_3781

Directions

  1. Grab a medium sized cooking saucepan, and heat the butter and onions. Cook the onions until they are soft.
  2. Then stir in the flour until completely mixed in.
  3. Stir in the broth and pumpkin; stirring until well blended.
  4. Add in the applesauce and nutmeg. Heating the mixture until boiling.
  5. Once boiling, reduce the heat to low and allow to simmer for approximately 20 minutes.
  6. After, add in the evaporated milk. Simmer an additional 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  7. Scoop out and enjoy!

Click {here} for the original {pin}.

PIN IT

Untitled-2

Leave a Reply

