Day 2: Pumpkin Brownies

IMG_3802

Next up on the list: Pumpkin Brownies!

I’m going to start out by coming clean. Guys, I’ve {epically failed} you on this recipe… Not in the sense that I didn’t complete the recipe, but I may have cheated just a little in the process of making these brownies. The original baker, whom I took the idea from, did as well. I guess you could say I don’t feel so bad if he did it, too. Heheh. 🙂

Alright, so this “cheating” involved something in a bag, inside a box. Yup! Boxed brownie mix. *Gasp* Here’s my rational behind using the boxed mix: it’s faster, it’s fool proof, and I just really, really, really wanted to eat a brownie faster. 🙂  I skipped the step of having to wait to make the brownie mix by scratch {which the baker and I both agree would have been super fabulous!} I’ve attached the original {from scratch} recipe for you here

About the recipe now: this recipe takes the best of both world—cheesecake and brownies. You marble swirl pumpkin cheesecake yummniess into the dark chocolate gooeness. Powerhouse concoction if I don’t say so myself!

{Result}: Epic Win! {Super cute, too!}

*Trust me when I say this, {you can} make these, too.

{Pumpkin Brownies}

Ingredients {if you don’t make the brownie from scratch}

  • 2 Boxes of brownie mix {I used Hershey’s Double Chocolate Chunk}
    • 2 egg
    • 2/3 cup of vegetable oil
    • 1 cup of water
  • 3 oz. cream cheese {half a pouch}, softened {room temperature}
  • 1 tablespoon of butter, softened {room temperature}
  • 1/2 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of canned pumpkin
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger
  • 1 tablespoon of all purpose flour

IMG_3764

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grab a 13×9 baking pan and line with foil. Grease the foil. {I just put the foil in the pan and sprayed cooking oil}
  2. In a bowl, mix all of the ingredients of the brownie mix. Pour this mixture into the 13×9 baking pan.
  3. In another bowl, beat the cream cheese and the 1 tablespoon butter with mixer on medium for 30 seconds. Add the sugar and beat until well combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally.
  4. After, beat in the egg, the pumpkin, vanilla, cinnamon, and ginger until combined. Stir in the 1 tablespoon flour.
  5. Spoon pumpkin cream cheese mixture in several mounds on top of the brownie batter. Using a narrow metal spatula {or knife}, gently swirl the cream cheese mixture into the chocolate batter. {If desired, sprinkle with walnuts}
  6. Bake about 60 minutes or until center is just set when pan is gently shaken. Cool in pan on a wire rack.
  7. Cut into brownies and enjoy!

IMG_3772

Click {here} for the original {pin}.

PIN IT

Untitled-2

Leave a Reply

